Continuing with my resolve to question everything in my path, here are a few more random items that couldn’t prove their worth this week:

Image

While looking for something else, I found this pile of men’s handkerchief’s in the bottom of my costume closet in the basement.  I think I needed one as a prop for a show, and you couldn’t buy just one, you had to get a whole pack.  I’m not sure why I kept them – I think I thought maybe Ron would want them.  But we’ve been together for ten years, and I’ve never once seen him pull out a handkerchief or say he wished he had one, so I don’t know why I would think that.  Dumb.

Image

Our utility drawer in the kitchen is not horrifically crowded with useless stuff, but I have still been scrutinizing it a lot lately.  Because we can’t really afford to go out to eat, we’ve been cooking and doing a lot of dishes, so I’ve become keenly aware of things we never use.  This handheld juicer is one of those items.  We have different juicer that is in the dishwasher nearly every week, but this one seems to just sit in the drawer, taking up precious space.  I personally have never used it, and when I asked Ron if he ever did, he said he had tried it for a while, but preferred the other one, so he was fine letting this one go.

Image

These are the WORST, and I do mean THE WORST scissors in the world.  I don’t know how we ended up with them – I know I didn’t buy them.  I have a pair on my desk that works great, but this pair just keeps turning up places around the house, and I attempt to cut things with them, and then get so frustrated I feel like stabbing myself with them instead but they are so dull I would probably only be able to inflict a light bruise.  I tried to cut fabric with them the other day and I do not exaggerate when I say I would have had better luck tearing the fabric apart with my teeth.  They barely even cut paper.  So why haven’t I thrown them away?  Good question.  They’re gone now.

Image

This timer is perfectly good, but we never use it.  It’s been holed up in our utility drawer as well.  It came as a freebie with a roasting pan we bought.  We have a timer on both the stove and the microwave, and while we often will use both of them at the same time, I can’t think of any instances where I’ve really wished I had a third timer.  I’m just not that complicated of a cook, and if I did need an extra one, there’s one on my phone.  I’m sure someone at the Goodwill will be glad I passed it on.

Image

These jars are the remains of a failed attempt to make tomato jam.  We had a bumper crop of cherry tomatoes a couple years ago, and in an effort to use some of them up, we decided to make tomato jam for things like fried egg sandwiches and…whatever else you might eat with tomato jam.  It turned out disgusting, about half the jars refused to seal, and we ended up tossing the whole batch.  I suppose I could keep them and try to make fruit jam someday.  But here’s the thing – while I love to bake, I’ve never had much interest in canning/preserving/jellying/jamming.  Every time I’ve considered trying to learn how, I just end up thinking “Ehhhhuughhhhnahhh.  Nah.”  Add to this the fact that my mom makes fantastic jam every year with fresh berries that she picks herself and is always willing to share it, and I just don’t see myself ever using these jars.  So out they go.

It’s weird how even getting rid of just one or two useless things a day still makes me feel good, even if there is no noticeable difference in the way things look.  I guess it makes me feel like I’m still doing something towards my goal, no matter how small.  If you’re feeling overwhelmed by your own stuff, try it – get rid of one thing a day for a week.  Over time, it’ll add up and you’ll start to see a difference – provided you don’t keep buying more crap.  There was another blog I read before I started mine called 365 Less Things – the woman who wrote it lives in Australia and got rid of one thing every day for a year – multiple years, actually, I think   – until she got so down to the basics she couldn’t keep getting rid of an item a day.  She still posts on her blog though and is fun to read- if you’re curious!

Also, if you are ever reading one of my posts close to the date it was published, and you see me getting rid of something you really want or need, feel free to ask me for it.  My friend Cate just became the new owner of my Mexican sink after reading my post, and my friend Sandra got one of my old cashmere sweaters.  I’m always happy to know that still usable items are going to a good home.

