Every year, in May, my heart beats a little faster when I receive this particular postcard in the mail:

Image

Anthropologie is my favorite store.  I spend waaaaayyyy too much money there.  Say what you will about it (Overpriced?  Yes.  Fashions can be weird?  Yes.  CEO is apparently not a great guy?  Probably, if the rumors are true.), I still lovelovelove it.  There is an Anthropologie right across the street from a theatre I work at a lot, and I have found it impossible not to stop in and browse all of the lovely things whenever I’m on a break.  And I usually buy something.  Or a couple things, especially if there is a sale.  Just walking into the store makes me feel a little happier.

Because I am an “Anthro” member, and membership has its privileges, I get a coupon for 15% off any purchase in my birthday month, May.   In the past, I usually have gotten a gift card from Anthropologie as one of my presents, so I have happily gone in to reap both the discount and the gift card at the same time.  That has always been a very fun day for me.

But as you know, this year, I only got one thing for my birthday, my new Mac.  I have no regrets – I love it.  But in my current financial straits, and with no gift card to help out, and the average cost of most items in the store being over $100, 15% is not going to do much for me.  I would have to put anything I bought on my credit card, and I am adamant about not doing that right now unless it’s an emergency.  I am also in the process of completely re-evaluating my wardrobe, and it seems a little dumb to run out and buy new things before I’ve gotten what I already own pared down and organized so I can see where the gaps are.

So I’m not using my birthday month discount this year.  Last night, just to be sure, I went online to see what was on display, and really, for the most part, there wasn’t anything that made me delirious with want – which was kinda surprising.  Either I am getting more focused and less crazy on the whole wardrobe issue (let’s hope), or the stuff just wasn’t that great right now (maybe – it seemed to be a lot of sack-like things, or weird tops with peplums.  I’m not big on peplums).

It makes me a little sad – my Anthropologie birthday splurge was always a ritual that brought me a lot of joy.  But I’m open to that being replaced with some other happy thing – like being out of debt.

Image

Maybe next year…sniffle.

