I’m a firm believer in thinking you are always sent exactly what you need, whether you recognize it at the time or not.  Usually I think of this phrase in terms of bigger life twists and turns, like love and careers or other major events.  But yesterday, it happened on a much smaller scale, in the form of the perfect recipe.

If you’ve been reading for a while, you may remember I’ve rhapsodized about the blog Sally’s Baking Addiction, which is AWESOME.  I subscribe to it, so when she posts a new recipe, it’s delivered to my inbox.  Earlier in the week, as I was attempting to shove something in an already full pantry cupboard, I took a closer look and noticed that I had a lot of almost used baking supplies, but not enough of any one thing to make a full batch of cookies or something.  I was debating whether or not to just throw some of it out, when I got Sally’s latest creation:  Peanut Butter S’more 7 Layer Bars.

It was uncanny timing.  Because here were some of the very things I was thinking I needed to use up:

  1. A sleeve of graham crackers
  2. Some odds and ends of chocolate chips – milk and dark chocolate
  3. A stray box of Reese’s Pieces that I have no idea why we have since neither Ron or I really like them on their own
  4. A partial can of sweetened condensed milk leftover from another recipe
  5. A half bag of mini marshmallows that are hitting that stale/not stale cusp
  6. Some Hershey’s Special Dark Bars and Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups that had been smashed under the weight of all the other candy in the cupboard and were still edible, but in pieces
  7. Some random snack sized bags of Planter’s peanuts that no one in our house ever chooses to eat, even when desperate

Image

I read through the recipe, and realized I had every single ingredient except the peanut butter chips, and it occurred to me that I could just sub in the Reese’s pieces, since the candy shell would melt off anyway while they were baking.

So after several hours in the recording dungeon, and with plans to visit Lori as a reward for days of hard work, I whipped up a batch of the seven layer bars.  They could not be easier.  To quote Sally, “If you know how to pour thing into a pan, you can make these.”  It’s true.  Here’s how simply they go together:

A pulverized graham cracker/melted butter crust, covered in a chocolate hodge podge of mini milk chocolate chips, Ghiradelli dark chocolate chips, and broken pieces of Hershey’s Special Dark Bar…

Image

Followed by the Reese’s Pieces…

Image

Followed by a layer of chopped up Reese’s Peanut Butter Cups and minimarshmallows…

Image

Followed by a sprinkling of salted peanuts and a drizzle of sweetened condensed milk…

Image

Here is it after baking….

Image

Oh.  My.  God.

Melty, chocolatey, peanut buttery, gooey, marshmallowy smore’s-like goodness.  I took them over to Lori’s, and Sam and Lori and I all had one.  Then Lori and I put Sam to bed and proceeded to talk and laugh and eat half the pan, sliver by sliver, along with a bottle of champagne.

S’mores, champagne, and my bestie.  It was kind of a perfect Saturday night.

Image

