Continuing on my quest to use up our stash of candy bars, I went Pinteresting (is that a verb yet?  If not, I just coined it. You’re welcome.) for another candy bar dessert recipe.  And I found one.  Well, actually, I found several, but there was one that really caught my eye –  Brown Butter Milky Way Oatmeal Cookies.  Once again, I had all the ingredients on hand.

Image

Image

So I whipped up a batch.  Some interesting steps in this one, such as browning the butter and then cooling it back down to a solid state, and chopping up the Milky Ways and freezing them, and then just pressing the candy pieces into the top of each cookie instead of mixing them into the dough like I did last time.  I peeked in at them baking and saw some of the candy pieces had toppled off the edge of the cookie and were spreading into melted  carmel chocolate goo on the Silpat liner, so I pulled them out for a second, scraped up the goo, piled it back on top of the cookie, and then put them back in.

OH.  MY.  GOD.

Image

Quite possibly the best cookies I’ve ever made, no lie. Browned butter makes all the difference between good and great, in my experience.  The smell of them cooking was insane, and the texture came out perfect.  And they were EASY.  The recipe only made about sixteen cookies, which is just right – there’s no chance to get sick of them, only to crave more.  The same website that supplied this recipe has recipes for all sorts of other incredible sounding treats, many of them involving candy, and I intend to try a few more of them (Snickers bar stuffed chocolate chip cookies anyone? Seriously, this woman is a cookie GENIUS, she needs her own show).  But until then…don’t bother me for a while.  I have cookies to eat.

Image

