Back in November, after spending way too much time on various fashion blogs, I became obsessed with buying a new watch.  I guess that wouldn’t seem so bad, if I didn’t already own several watches, and I only really wear one on a regular basis.  I love my watch – it’s silver and classic and beautiful.  I wear it every single day, and I slowly saved money for two years to be able to afford it.  Last year, my husband gave me another silver watch as a gift, and I love that one too, not only because of the way it looks, but because he picked it for me.  But I sometimes feel guilty about how much I don’t wear it, because I slightly favor the one I bought for myself.

Even so, I suddenly became fixated on owning another watch – but this time, a gold one.  I had two silver watches, but what was I THINKING not owning a gold one too???  I began my hunter/gatherer process of stalking the perfect gold watch online and in stores.  It was a daily obsession, and one I’m really good at.

I did find the perfect one – a gold Michael Kors watch that I had seen at Nordstrom’s that was a bit expensive, but on Cyber Monday, right after Thanksgiving, I found it online for 20% off.  And I even had rewards points I could contribute to knock the price down about $45.  It was  a no brainer – I whipped out a credit card and bought it.  This was in November of 2012, and it was on backorder till Feb. of 2013, so I waited excitedly for it to arrive.

And then in January, I started writing this blog.  It’s made me really think about what I want in my life, and the same themes keep coming up for me – I want to do work I love, with people I like and respect. And I want to be out of debt.  Those things make me truly, wholeheartedly happy.  In that mindset, any new purchase that puts me in a position to take a job I don’t like or sink deeper into debt starts to wane in appeal.

The watch arrived in January, much earlier than expected.  I’ve had it in the box, with the tags still on, for a month now.  It’s lovely.  Look:

Mmmm...fresh shopping kill!

Mmmm…fresh shopping kill!

But I was just going over my bills for February, and fretting about how I was going to pay them.  And thinking about how much interest rates suck.  And I realized that as pretty I think the watch is, I’m not so in love with it that I immediately wanted to cut the tag off and wear it when it landed on my doorstep.  I once read that if you’re trying to decide whether or not to buy something, ask yourself “Would I want to wear/use this tonight?” and if the answer is no, put it back, because you don’t love it enough.  I looked at the balance on the card I had used to purchase it.  Returning the watch would make me completely out of debt on that card – in fact, I’d actually have an account credit.

And THAT thought set my heart racing in a pitter-patter of excitement – more than what I’d felt when I’d first seen the watch.

I’m returning it – it’s boxed up and ready to go.  And I don’t feel sad, which is a bit surprising considering how passionately I searched for it and wanted it a month ago.  If anything, I feel giddy every time I think about there being one less interest accruing bill waiting for me next month.

I owe you NOTHING, credit card.  In fact, you owe me.  Suck on that.

I owe you NOTHING, credit card. In fact, you owe me. Suck on that.

